figs

It has been an enjoyable time of learning and success and failure with my fig cuttings. Looking back at the propagation progress, I can report that almost all of them took off and put out leaves while in the humidity cups, except for one variety. And I think the cuttings of that one variety were too dry to start with.

The LSU Gold cuttings fizzled out and dropped leaves too. I didn’t get any of them to take root. I believe my error was too quickly bringing the plants into ambient humidity. I did well with Ronde de Bordeaux and all five of my cuttings are still with me. Smith and Hunt did well too, I have multiples of those varieties. Flanders died off due to over-watering and root rot when they got drenched by an unexpected rain storm after being potted up, as did several other plants.

rdb

I am left with several plants though, and am delighted with the fact that I succeeded in rooting cuttings for the first time. I am disappointed that I did not get the Flanders, LSU Gold or Black Italian to success. Ronde de Bordeaux has been the most successful.

I now have multiple rooted cuttings potted in containers of various sizes and growing vigorously, hardened off to full exposure. Many are planted in what I hope will be their permanent home, at least for the next few years. I have decided that I will not likely put any of these varieties in the ground until I determine which fruit I like the best. I have, in addition to the plants I started from cuttings, a number of other varieties at similar stages of growth. I am loving the fig jungle!

My front yard Celeste, which has been growing like crazy for a few years, has finally put out a good crop in response to last year’s pruning. I harvested about ten ripe fruits today, more will be ripening in the coming days. The Celeste is rather bland and the fruits are small, I hope that the sweetness increases later in the summer. Here’s a ripening Celeste:

celeste02

I also harvested a large fig from my small Olympia fig bush. It has a dozen figs on it, and finally plumped one up. It fell off naturally, but wasn’t completely ripe, so it wasn’t tasty. I am looking forward to the others.

Next year looks like a good fig harvest year, and in a couple of years I ought to know which are my favorites. A little Beer’s Black has taken off like wildfire and I look forward to its fruit. I’m happy with the mid-summer fig-progress,

bluegiant

