I usually don’t use the term “charming” for stuff, I’m a big, manly brute, after all. But I love this little plant and it is charming. I only have four of them that survived my inattentiveness at the beginning of summer, but they are growing feverishly now and I have lots of Chamomile flowers for tea-making. If Peter Rabbit’s momma was here, she’d be having a great day in my garden.

In fact, my wife makes an organic remedy from elderberries, which in our house seems to work wonders at heading off a cold. Recently, she added my first harvest of Chamomile flowers to the brew. I like to think it was better because of that. Since my daughter is a fan of tea, and frequently reviews teas on her Tea Trials blog, I think I can safely say that we will be trying some herbal teas in the future.

I am growing German Chamomile that I purchased at Baker Creek. This is an heirloom variety and seems to be the one you want for medicinal purposes. I started the seeds indoors in May, a little late, but when I transferred them to the garden, they really took off when the heat came. They looked small and fretful for a long time, I remember thinking they would die before I got any flowers from them, but now – as July turns to August –  I have a harvest every day.

A couple of day's worth of harvesting Chamomile flowers.
A couple of day’s worth of harvesting Chamomile flowers.

Here are a few videos that explain how to benefit from this exceptional medicinal herb. Its a lovely fragrant flower, an interesting plant, and worth your effort.

First, “Rainbow Gardens”, who in my mind is Miss Southern Accent (that’s a compliment), has a good video here: How to Harvest and Dry a Small Batch of German Chamomile & Repurposing a Splatter Screen

Check here if  you need a quick primer on How to harvest Chamomile.

Here’s another good overview: Growing Chamomile Herb: Chamomilla matricaria

