This post is updated! Having an abundance of Poblano peppers, I have to eat them all! And having made Poblanos Rajas twice now, I want to share it. I have since learned that this dish is also traditionally called Rajas con Crema. This is a creamy dish suitable as a side dish or as a relish to put on your fajitas or tacos. Judging from the many recipes and comments on Youtube, this is an authentic Tex-mex dish you might actually find in Hispanic households. Judging from the response of my Facebook friends when I posted a link to this article’s first iteration, I guess its popular in America del Sur as well.

As with so many recipes I make, the measurements are relative and open for your adjustments. One lady on youtube just says “use one or two ‘spoons’ of this or that.” I can go with that, and hope you can too.

Poblano peppers ready for the flame
Poblano peppers ready for the flame

First you will need to get the ingredients together. I used 9 medium sized Poblanos, a large onion, three or four cloves of garlic (not part of the original recipe) and some butter, real sour cream, and milk. You can use salt and pepper to taste. On my second time around (where I made the videos), I used 10 or 11 Poblanos.

Next, you will need to get the skin off the Poblanos. You can do this on open flame on the grill, or if you have a gas range like we do, directly on the range. Otherwise, you can bake them until the skin looks loose and blistered. Place the peppers directly over the flames, let the skin get charred and black, rotating every once in a while to char as much of the skin as possible. Put the charred pepper in a plastic bag to steam for a few minutes as you char the rest of the peppers. Steaming the peppers in the bag loosens the skin further. Once you have charred and steamed all the Poblanos, rub the skin off as best you can under running water. It should just slip off in pieces. You won’t get it all but try to get most of it.

CHarring the skins
Charring the skins

Next, cut the pepper into strips. I take the crown and seeds out too. You want long strips around half an inch wide or so. You should also coarsely chop the onion into half-rings. The hard part is over.

Now, put one or two tablespoons of butter in a pan or shallow pot and saute the onion for a few minutes. Once the onions are on the way to being soft, add the Poblanos. I put about three or four tablespoons of water in the pot too, anticipating the next step. I added two packs of chicken bouillon (organic, all natural, yum!) to the pot and mixed it all up. On my second attempt I used Edward & Sons Natural Bouillon Cubes “Not Chicken” variety. which is a vegan substitute. I’m no Vegan, but this stuff is pretty good and savory.

Finally, you will need two or three heaping tablespoons of sour cream (if you are not using real sour cream, please do, its better tasting and better for you), and a dash of milk of its too thick. Less is more, you can always try to add more.

IMG_000092
A couple of good dollops of sour creme

Let this delicious mixture simmer for a bit, until you can’t stand it anymore, and have to eat it. Its a great vegetable side dish or a super addition to tacos. I added mine to pulled pork soft tacos with a little grated cheddar, and it was fantastic. The poblanos and creamy gravy would make a nice chicken enchilada topping.

IMG_000061

My second attempt was better, more peppers and less creme. This is a fantastic dish and I am not sold on it, and will have to make it pretty much any time we eat Fajitas or a Mexican dish. Try it, its not too hard.

