The Shishito Pepper has been one of the more anticipated varieties I’ve grown this year because of their fame as a swanky restaurant novelty. This mild Japanese pepper has enjoyed some notoriety and I was eager to see why. I have three plants and they are fairly heavy producers. Last night I picked a dozen or so 3-4″ long peppers and prepared them in the popular fashion. Simple, quick, and yes – they were delicious. The peppers were eaten, seeds and all, and they proved to be mild, soft and filled with flavor. I will grow these again for sure.

My pick for this meal, fresh from the bush.
My pick for this meal, fresh from the bush.

The easiest way to cook them seems to be the most popular. Blister them in a hot skillet or wok with a bit of olive oil, turning or tossing the peppers until they are evenly cooked.

Poke a hole in each pepper with a knife or fork so they don't swell and pop in the oil.
Poke a hole in each pepper with a knife or fork so they don’t swell and pop in the oil.

Once cooked, I placed them on a paper towel to drain excess oil and sprinkled them with pink Himalayan salt. They can be served as an appetizer or a side dish, they might even make a nice edible garnish.

The finished peppers, 10 minutes from bush to plate.
The finished peppers, 10 minutes from bush to plate.

These peppers are fantastic, I can’t wait to try grilling them on the pit. I’ll also see if the fully ripe red Shishito has a flavor shift. Here’ is what was left:

shishito04

