I was quite happy to meet this large red dragonfly in the pepper patch recently. Its a Darter, likely a Red-Veined Darter. Dragonflies are voracious predators of all sorts of pests, but I like them because they eat mosquitoes. This one let me approach him, I got close enough to touch its wing after I took pictures. Its always a joy to see what kinds of insects a garden attracts.

reddragon
Red-Veined Dragonfly rests on a stick

In the beans a few feet away was this little damselfly. The difference between the damselfly and the dragonfly should be evident – damselflies fold their wings back over their body and have a generally smaller, more damsel-like build. They too eat pretty much anything they can catch.

Damselfly in the beans
Damselfly in the beans

Follow these links to learn more about the dragonfly and damselfly.

