Its only been a week since my last update, but what a week of growth it has been! Finally, my tomatoes are showing signs of ripening. I have a ripe Roma and some that are warming in color. I’ve just acquired an Oxo Food Mill for making tomato sauce (among other things) and will post our experience with that when we launch into such new things. I also have a nice Cor di Bue I will pick in the next couple of days.

A ripening Cor di Bue greeted me this weekend, now its looking nearly ripened!
A ripening Cor di Bue greeted me this weekend, now its looking nearly ripened!

The Swiss Chard is beautiful. I have both red and gold varieties growing side by side. The summer heat really made these take off. If you have been following our garden (all two of you), you remember that the Chard took almost a month or more to sprout. I had almost given up on it and planted something else in its place, but I am glad I waited. Look at this greenie goodness:

Swiss Chard loving the summer heat.
Swiss Chard loving the summer heat.

I have been harvesting Okra for a few weeks, but the real harvest gets going in a week or two as the thirty or so tiny fruits come of age soon. For now, I have been harvesting each fruit that comes about after these marvelous blooms open up. Bumble Bees love them, and they are nice to see each day. After a long day, they fold up, then drop off to reveal an okra fruit underneath. I’ve got a batch ready for frying later in the week. Here’s one for Okra!

An Okra blossom will become an edible fruit in two or three days.
An Okra blossom will become an edible fruit in two or three days.

Our beans are now in summer growth mode, especially the heat-loving cowpeas. Arkansas Razorback variety is looking like it will start blossoming next week, meaning bean pods in two to three weeks. Our green beans have bloomed, I suspect a harvest very soon.

061714_beans
As Johnny Cash once said, “Look at them beans!”

My pepper patch has expanded. All of our radishes have been harvested, roasted and eaten (delicious, by the way). In the radish plot I put the last of my potted peppers, these are the ‘chosen ones’ – a trio of Thai Chili and a trio of Tabasco peppers. Next door, the Poblanos are fruiting like mad. Even my container peppers are fruiting well and I will be into a good sized harvest of Jalapeños and Poblanos before long.

Poblanos galore! Olé!
Poblanos galore! Olé!

Though not technically part of the garden itself, the sunflower patch is now much taller than me. These are Mammoth variety, and should produce seeds able to be harvested and eaten, or enjoyed by the birds. Lovely plants.

The sunflowers have breached the fence height!
The sunflowers have breached the fence height!

This is a first year garden and not without its errors. But I am extremely happy at the production so far, how much better next year will certainly be!

