I love gardening, but I also enjoy cooking and eating what I grow – that’s the point. I learned of a recipe from a friend on Facebook that intrigued me. Roasted Radishes. This small batch was an experiment to see if I liked them.

Split and oiled, ready to go in the oven
Split and oiled, ready to go in the oven

Here’s the simplest way – We took some small, young radishes, split them, shook them in olive oil and dusted them with pink Himalaya salt and some fresh cracked pepper. I placed them on a foiled cookie sheet and baked for 30 minutes or so at 425 degrees. Once the edges start browning, I think it would be enough baking. Stick to the visual test and not the timer.

The pungent heat from these young radishes all but left, and what came out of the over was a delightfully sweet marvel. I had never cooked radishes before, but this is how they will be eaten around here frequently. Makes me want to plant some more. Here’s the end result:

Food photographers would groan, but this gives the idea. Nice and brown on the outside, soft and caramelized on the edges, delicious inside!
Food photographers would groan, but this gives the idea. Nice and brown on the outside, soft and caramelized on the edges, delicious inside!
