I love to garden, and I love cameras. Here are some black and white shots from my favorite garden to date, the 2009 edition which turned in to a tomato jungle. These were film shots on vintage medium format cameras using 120 film. A garden ought to be a place you enjoy, a place where you like to wander and think. The hogwire fence, low-tech and ugly as it might be, defined the garden space nicely, and made it its own world where nothing was allowed but peace.

These pots housed these tomato plants for a full year, they needed frequent watering, but kept producing into the fall.
These pots housed these tomato plants for a full year, they needed frequent watering, but kept producing into the fall.

I trained the tomatoes up some bamboo tripods but they soon required a bit more support. I eventually had to tie them to the fence and use bungee cords to strap them up. I did find many uses for the bamboo and would use the inexpensive poles again if I could get longer ones.

3413233151_0122a81cb3_o
The tall rectangular frame had twine stretched every foot or so and allowed butter beans to grow all the way to the top. In fact, the beans climbed well up into my neighbor’s tree.

I hope this year’s garden takes on the same sort of fond atmosphere. I might need a nice wooden fence for that!

