Today we finally put some seeds in the ground and planted some of our tomato plants that were started from seed. This marks the end of our building of the garden, now we are actually gardening! Here are some pics.

Soaking bean seeds for a couple of hours should help them germinate quickly.
Soaking bean seeds for a couple of hours should help them germinate quickly.
Planting beans with my helper.
Planting beans with my helper.

We planted two kinds of bush green beans, Blue Lake 274 and Calima, both from Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds. We also planted some Ozark Razorback Cowpeas. I have always enjoyed growing cowpeas. Cowpeas add nitrogen to the soil and I will either till them in at the end of the growing season or compost them. Cowpeas are a good first crop for poor soil – they thrive in poor soil and give a good crop of tasty food; they add value and nutrients so that next year’s crop will be better; and they taste good. I have read articles about cowpeas being helpful in poverty-stricken areas of Africa, where, incidentally, many cowpeas originate (inculding my favorite, the Gray Speckled Palapye). This is a crop almost anyone should be able to grow, even in poor soil and in the heat of a coastal Texas summer. Get some, plant them, and improve your soil!

13940799543_aa97876a11_b
Laying out our tomato plot. I’ll make some cages soon enough. These are Brandywines, Romas, and in the far end I will put in some Cor di Bue.
I had help today preparing the seed bed, planting beans, and watering.
I had help today preparing the seed bed, planting beans, and watering.
13941180044_ec648a73f5_b
Tomatoes, started from seed, transplanted once, now in the ground and mulched lightly.

Its a happy day to have things growing. Its been far too long. The next benchmark will be getting my peppers going. Oh, several kinds of Basil are now sprouting too. Please follow the blog for monthly updates on the garden growth, lots of updates in between about specific victories and challenges, and hopefully, recipes! I plan to add some how-to articles in the future about composting, and making tools, gardening techniques and the like. Stay tuned…

