With my first effort at sprouting 5 year old pepper seeds a bit poor, as expected, I have now added some fresh seed to the garden plans. Today, an unusually cold snap hit, bring the temps down to 45 degrees on tax day eve, and that’s relatively unheard of here. So, I will not be placing my current seedlings out in the garden until the weather warms. But in the mean time, I also have a long summer facing me, and that’s great for peppers. I have sown sever varieties now, in addition to the Poblanos that are now putting on a third set of leaves and two Jalapeño plants that came up out of old seed stock.

Today I sowed Tam Jalapeno, Tabasco, Pepperoncini, Thai Chili, Purple Bell, Orange Bell, and Shishitio. All of them heirloom varieties from Baker Creek. I really love peppers, and these are among my favorites. I hope to have some great things to share in the summer and fall related to peppers!

Latest pepper selection received from our friends at Baker Creek.
Latest pepper selection received from our friends at Baker Creek.
