They say one man’s trash is another man’s treasure. Well, I like good stuff. And as one of my other blogs testifies, well designed, quality goods make me smile. But there is wisdom and beauty in recycling and re-purposing that which is destined for a landfill. What’s better, is that the marker stakes I cut from old aluminum mini-blinds are better than any others. I will be able to use these as long as I can keep them from being lost.

If you find an old set of mini blinds, don’t toss them before cutting a bunch of marker stakes from the slats. Its easy to do with a pair of scissors. Cut the strings holding everything together and keep the aluminum slats. I found that cutting a point on the end is a half a second sweep with the scissors, but a rounded point is best. If you have an angled point the slat sticks in the sides of peat pots.

You can write the name of the plant on the marker with a pencil or a permanent sharpie. Next year, a solvent will wash the sharpie off if the elements have not already. While some gardeners are aghast at the use of technology like solvents, I’m not. Brake parts cleaner from the local auto parts store will wash any paint or permanent marker off the markers next year. Since I use lots of this stuff for other work in the garage, its handy.

These stakes only save a few bucks a year, but over the years, a few bucks saved is a nice decorative pot or a new pair of work gloves.

Scissors, a sharpie and some reclaimed mini blind slats mean I have plant markers for decades.
Scissors, a sharpie and some reclaimed mini blind slats mean I have plant markers for decades.
