One of my favorite seed catalogs comes from Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds. I enjoy their catalogs every year and try to order most of my seeds from them. Here’s what I hope we will be growing some of this year.

seeds2014

Beans – for our green beans, I will plant a long row of Calima Beans and Blue Lake Bush 274. I’ll try out the asian long beans too if room allows. I bought Thai #2 Red Seeded Long Bean and Chinese Red Noodle Bean.

Roots – For our root crops we purchased Danvers 126 Half Long Carrots (for our shallow soil), Pink Beauty Radishes (mild, I love these, and they grow fast), and Ideal Purple Top Milan Turnips.

Cowpeas – We can’t garden without some form of cowpea. Not only are they good for the soil, but no southerner can till without planting some. I chose Purple Hull Pinkeye Cowpeas, a classic that my wife’s grandparent’s grew. My first garden had some of their seeds, I wish I still had the family stock, but I don’t. These will do. In the past I’ve had great success with these and with Grey Speckled Palapyes in the searing heat of summer.

Other Veggies – I will grow some Five Color Silverbeet Swiss Chard. Nice color, supposed to be easy. I’ve never had success with eggplant, but I’m trying Ping Tung Eggplants and hope this year I can get some to come up. If I have a plot that fizzles, I’ll plant some Crookneck-Early Golden Summer Squash in its place.

Herbs – Since I’ve converted to cinder blocks, I hope the holes will make nice herb containers. We love basil around here, so we will plant five varieties, including Cinnamon, Genovese, Lemon, Lime, and Thai Sweet. I know Chives are sometimes considered a veggie but we use them like herbs. We’ll grow some. Also, I plant to put some Lemongrass in a container and see how that goes.

We will also have tomatoes, man I love garden ripened tomatoes! Peppers too, can’t have a garden without peppers. These two I am starting indoors, but if they don’t germinate (they are old seed) we will round up some transplants.

Who knows what else will find its way into the soil? Which reminds me, we don’t even have any soil yet!

